MCA Calendar

February 2018
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 1 2 3

MD Sweet 16

Congratulations to Andrew Zheng (2100), who defeated Bendeguz Offertaler (2082) on Board 1 in Round 4 to become the 2013 Maryland-Sweet-16 Champion.  A 5th grader at Pointers Run Elementary School in Howard County, Andrew finished with a score of 3.5/4. With the title comes the 4-year MD-Sweet-16 UMBC Chess Scholarship  to the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, valued at $39,056 in 2012-2013.

Log in to comment

Congratulations to Ramanuja Sreenivasan, who defeated Bendeguz Offertaler on Board 1 in Round 3 to capture the 2012 Maryland Sweet 16 Chess Championship!

Log in to comment

Jeffrey Chang wins the 2011 Maryland Sweet 16 tournament at UMBC and with that also wins a 4-year chess scholarship to UMBC. He finished with a win over Ronald Best Jr (runnerup) to finish with a perfect score. Jeffrey is a 7th grader from Takoma Park Middle School in Montgomery County.

Further details to follow. Congratulations!

Log in to comment

The 2011-2012 MCA Maryland Sweet 16 qualification season is now complete, after the 6th event at Liberty Christian school yesterday.  The Maryland Sweet 16 consists of 16 of the top Maryland scholastic players, who compete at their own section of the UMBC Open. The winner receives a UMBC Chess scholarship. The 2012 Maryland Sweet 16 will be held Feb 25-26 at UMBC.

Here is the list of the 2012 Maryland Sweet 16 qualifiers:

Top 6 (USCF rating): Charles Yang, Ramanuja Sreenivasan, Dobrynya Konoplev, Bendeguz Offertaler, Andrew Zheng, Saketh Papaiahgari

Next 10 (Rally Points): Ronald Best Jr, Jerry Wu, Madeline Kim, Pieter Heesters, Alex Li, Jordan Best, Jason Zou, David Snyder, Sahil Singha, Aditya Balasubramanian

Top alternate: Zachary Jablow

Log in to comment

The 2011 Maryland Sweet 16 tournament is underway this weekend at UMBC (University of Maryland, Baltimore County), and the first two rounds are completed.

The current standings are

2.0: Charles Yang, Ramanuja Sreenivasan, Jeffrey Chang, Ronald Best Jr

1.0: Jake Koenig, Zachary Jablow, Jonathan Chen, Saketh Papaiahgari, Madeline Kim, Jerry Wu, Dobrynya Konoplev, Jason Zou

0.0: Bendeguz Offertaler, Devon Campbell, Alex Li, Jordan Best


The roster for the 2011 Sweet 16 are below. Jake Koenig substituted for David Snyder.

Best, Jordan (3rd grade - Baltimore City0

Best Jr, Ronald (7 - Baltimore City)

Campbell, Devon (8 - Baltimore City)

Chang, Jeffrey (7 - Montgomery County)

Chen, Jonathan (7? - Montgomery County)

Jablow, Zachary (6 - Baltimore County)

Kim, Madeline (8 - Baltimore City)

Koenig, Jake (11 - Montgomery County)

Konoplev, Dobrynya (10 - Howard County)

Li, Alex (7 - Montgomery County)

Offertaler, Bendeguz (8 - Montgomery County)

Papaiahgari, Saketh (9 - Baltimore County)

Sreenivasan, Ramanuja (7 - Montgomery County)

Wu, Jerry (6 - Montgomery County)

Yang, Charles (10 - Montgomery County)

Zou, Jason (7 - Howard County)


Log in to comment